Posted in The Spots

Parangtritis Beach

Hello, gorgeous!

On February 25th, 2012, my friends and I went to a dark-sand beach, Parangtritis. It is located in Yogyakarta – Bantul District. Since all of us lived in Sleman District (still in Yogyakarta, of course), we needed 1 hour to get to this site – 8 people on 6 motorbikes. Thank God, the weather was nice, no rain, not too hot, PERFECT!

When I first came to this beach – around 2003, I guess [Gosh, I’m old!], Parangtritis was a quiet beach. Mostly, I found some locals selling ronde (a traditional beverage of Yogyakarta), barbequed corns, sate. And of course, I met another visitors.

The last time, it was more crowded than before. More tourists, more sellers, and horses! πŸ™‚ Not only enjoying the scenery, now here you can ride a horse (pay for it!), ride a horsecab, or rent an ATV for 30 minutes or 1 hour ride. I will tell you more about the ATV, promise! πŸ™‚

The good thing about Parangtritis is that it’s not a sloppy beach. But, still, be careful! The wave is dangerous, you can easily get pulled to the sea if you dare to swim here. For a sea-swimmer, I am sorry, you’ll get no chance. :p

If you are a relaxing type of traveler, you can enjoy the scenery of the rock mountains around. Or just waiting for the sunset, enjoying hot beverages and BBQ-ed corn…

Image

Okay, now about the ATV! πŸ™‚ To get 1 big ATV for a ride, you have to pay IDR 100.000 per hour. You can bargain, actually, but don’t put your expectation too high. The owners are tough. :p

Once I had a horrible experience with the ATV. I went to Parangtritis on May 2011 with 2 friends, one of them was having her birthday. The plan was to give her an adrenaline rush by riding an ATV. For your information, the other friend (a guy) is kinda crazy with driving things, either it’s a motorbike, car, or worse: ATV.

And… there we were, riding an ATV like crazy. At some point, luckily, I decided to sit down and take a break. So my two friends ride an ATV together. I was waiting for them for soooo long, till a stranger came to me, telling me that my friends had an accident with the ATV. The ATV got stuck in the sand, and they were thrown away from their seat! What a mess! Thankfully, they were okay. And, the ATV rental guy put us in the blacklist… :p

Image

Some tips for you to visit Parangtritis:

  • Bring spare clothes if you plan to get wet.
  • Bring some money, for normal activities you only need IDR 20.000 (retribution, parking, shower, drink), or IDR 200.000 for super active visit (ride a horse, horse cab, and ATV).
  • Stay up late at Parangtritis? Go grab some dinner at Depok Beach, the beach next door, turn left from the retribution on the way back to Yogyakarta. They serve seafood, with a good price.
  • DON’T wear green clothes. There’s a myth that wearing the outfit on this color will put you in danger. πŸ™‚
  • Be relax and enjoy your time…

 

Love,

^nee^

Author:

I am a greedy person. I always want to get more, to be more, to gain more. Sometimes I feel like I can't get through my own mind. I couldn't even understand myself. That's why I create ExtraordinarNee. To see through me, and to be seen... :)

Write your comment down here...

