Posted in The Spots

Jalatundra Well – Wonosobo/Banjarnegara

Hello gorgeous!

I wrote about 2 beaches so far as the holiday destination. I don’t want you to get bored by my obsession of beach. So, now, let me present you another type of tourism site: Jalatundra Well (Sumur Jalatundra). πŸ™‚

I visited Jalatundra Well on 2011, I forgot exactly when. I went to Dieng Plateau in Wonosobo with some friends, and this place was one of the destination we went to.

See the picture? It doesn’t look like a normal well, does it? Let me tell you something: Jalatundra Well is in the form of a big pond or a small lake. The locals said that it has an infinite depth. And – believe it or not – this is a magical well. πŸ™‚

The wall surrounding the pond is high, unfortunately I forgot the height [sorry]. The visitor can enjoy the view from one side of the wall where a lot of locals sell small rocks. The small rocks are not the souvenirs here. This rock-selling is connected with the myth of the well.

Old people say that if someone try to throw a small rock to the well, something will happen. If you throw the rock and it pass through the well, your dream will come true. If you throw the rock and it almost pass through, it means that your dream will come true BUT you have to put more effort on it. If the rock is thrown and it doesn’t even pass half-width of the well, you will fail on getting the thing you want at the current time. Interesting… I tried several times and succeeded only once. Shame on me. :p

The bad things about this site are:

  • The temperature is kinda cold but somehow it’s hot, maybe because it’s located near craters. Plus, I went there at noon. πŸ™‚
  • Nothing to see, you have to go upstairs to the small hall, crowded with other visitors. You can take pictures that can’t cover all part of the well. It’s hard to get a picture of the well with you in it (in the picture, not the well!).

The good thing is that you can try throwing the rock and check if the myth is true or not. πŸ˜‰

Ummm… That’s all I can say now. See you on the next tourism spot!

 

Love

^nee^

Author:

I am a greedy person. I always want to get more, to be more, to gain more. Sometimes I feel like I can't get through my own mind. I couldn't even understand myself. That's why I create ExtraordinarNee. To see through me, and to be seen... :)

Write your comment down here...

