Posted in The Stories

My Jobs – Part 5: Singer

Hello gorgeous!

Please welcome, my fifth job: singer.

Like what I said, singing is one of my passion among other things in life. I even have another blog that is related to singing activity.

So, I started singing, as a group, when I was on my 3rd grade of primary school. I was 8 years old, I guess. I joined the choir extracurricular at school the last day of my primary school life. Then I went to junior high school, and still, picked choir as my extracurricular activity. During the years of senior high school, again, I put myself at the school choir. At the university, you can make your own guess, and yeah, you are right, I was at the university choir.

Joining choir was the door to the singing career I have right now. I was in the right place to bond and create connections with other music lover, musicians, or music critics. I was able to learn more about vocal technique, performance manner, musical knowledge, and other. And so I got the jobs from this very field.

My first singing job was at a wedding ceremony. It was a mass at my church back in Jember. My small choir group – El’s Choir – was hired to sing in a wedding. We did great and we got paid. Yippie!

The next thing I knew was I got in the choir or vocal group for some singing job at any events. Just name it. Wedding mass, wedding reception, gathering, meeting, politic party campaign, birthday celebration, wedding anniversary celebration, graduation ceremony, and blah blah blah.

Then I evolved. I went solo, several times.

Now, I sing in a band of trio, after the manager of the hotel (where I sing at) cut my acoustic band out from the entertainer list. I played with bands since 2011 if I wasn’t mistaken. We performed at Quality Hotel’s bar, Royal Ambarrukmo Hotel’s executive lounge, Vino Bar of Phoenix Hotel, Grand Palace Hotel, Graha Spa’s Exclusive Club, and Kopi Tiam Jogja.

Singing is fun. And it’s even more fun when you can make something out of it. Hehe…

Love,
^nee^

Author:

I am a greedy person. I always want to get more, to be more, to gain more. Sometimes I feel like I can't get through my own mind. I couldn't even understand myself. That's why I create ExtraordinarNee. To see through me, and to be seen... :)

Write your comment down here...

