Posted in The Stories

Bracket Story: Part 1

Hello gorgeous,

My teeth have never been a perfect line as far as I remember. Well, I might not be born with messy teeth, but my teenage and adult years passed by with a little smile on my face as my failed attempt to hide the destruction behind my lips.

After 32 years of living, I finally decided to put on braces and make things right for those lines of white thingie. The reason behind? Someone kept bugging me to do it and it somehow built such an ambition to make changes, to showcase a better me.

I’ve been spending years of mocking my friends with braces. Told them that someone must be cursing them by making wires come out from their teeth. Kekeke, that old time… But now I have it my own, and it turns out okay. Keep reading for more info, I’ll stop the jibber jabber now.

Get started

To be honest, I didn’t spend time to research for several orthodontist (yes, that’s the dentist specialized in braces). I went to the dentist group I went for patching up my teeth holes: DENTES.

Dentes has its own reputation and portfolio, it’s available in several big cities in Indonesia. Checking on the Instagram account, I found Dentes convincing. So, I gave it a shot!

Steps to start:

  1. Do your research: Ask around for recommendations, check all portfolios, check on the price.
  2. Choose the trusted orthodontist.
  3. Consult to the ortho about your teeth, in case you need pre-braces treatment, such as teeth removal, holes fixing, etc. Get the mold of your teeth. Also ask for reference letter for the X-Ray.
  4. Get an x-ray image of your teeth.
  5. Meet the ortho for installing the braces.
  6. Follow the check-up schedule strictly (mine is every 3 weeks).

How much?

The costs are:

  • 1st consultation: IDR 50,000
  • X-Ray: IDR 201,600 (at Pramita Lab)
  • Premium metal braces: IDR 4,000,000 (you can pay IDR 2,000,000 in advance and pay the rest by 4 times credit)
  • Braces installation service + tooth brush + wax: IDR 100,000
  • Check-up: IDR 60,000

Notes: Card payment (including Credit Card) is available!

How is it?

Installation

It take 1 hour only, no pain. Kinda strange afterwards because I have things inside my mouth.

The ortho will recommend not to eat anything for at least 2 hours. So… Eat before you put the braces on!

I chose red elastic on the 1st time. And red again on the 1st check-up. Now I change to blue!

Daily lives

The 1st week after installing the braces and after each check-up session: PAINFUL!

The teeth are pulled here and there, so it will feel like hell. The front teeth feel like moving, not firm at all.

Some people get the ulcers from the friction between the gum and the braces. But not in my case.

When the teeth are pulled closer together, the end of the wire will come out from the braces in the corner. The wire will scratch your mouth wall. That’s normal.

Brush your teeth often. I usually do it in the morning, after lunch, and before bed. Ideally, brush your teeth after eating.

Eating

I have to eat with my wisdom teeth at all times. If I bite with my front teeth, the braces might come off. I don’t wanna risk it.

The 2nd week is getting better. The 3rd week is the easiest. But still: No biting!

Recommended food for the 1st week:

  • Mashed potatoes (in Yogyakarta, Koki Joni has the best one)
  • Soup (KFC’s soup, let it stay for 30 minutes to have all veggies soft)
  • Porridge
  • Spaghetti or noodles, to swallow directly (no chewing!)
  • Tofu
  • Juices

For other weeks, you can eat anything (rice, chicken, shrimp, squid, beef, fish), with some notes:

  • The softer the better
  • Chop/cut your food in small bites size. Remember: NO BITING
  • Avoid crackers or chips
  • Avoid eating/drinking cold right after hot or hot after cold to preserve the glue better

Overall

I’m happy with this decision. It will make my teeth look nicer, and having the neat structure means that I can clean it easily and more thoroughly for better dental health!

I had my braces on 7 July 2018, so I might take it off on 7 July 2020. Fingers crossed for the next 2 years!

So…

I have nothing more to say. If you have any questions, leave a comment! 🙂

 

_nee

Author:

I am a greedy person. I always want to get more, to be more, to gain more. Sometimes I feel like I can't get through my own mind. I couldn't even understand myself. That's why I create ExtraordinarNee. To see through me, and to be seen... :)

Write your comment down here...